Skip to content

Marina and the Diamonds

March 13, 2013

I am going to talk to you about one of my favorite artists, Marina Diamandis, also known as Marina and the Diamonds. She is a famous British singer. People often think Marina refers to the singer while the diamonds are her backing band, whereas she explains on her MySpace “I am Marina, you are the diamonds”.

diamonds

She was born on October 1st, 1985 in Abergavenny, Wales from a Greek father and a Welsh mother. She sort of discovered her talent at school, because she had an amazing music teacher who convinced her she could do anything if she wanted to. She plays the keyboards, the glockenspiel and the organ, and she writes her songs herself.

Diamandis originally auditioned for a reggae boy band held by Virgin Records in 2005, dressed as a boy to amuse the label to sign her but they refused her. She recorded some demos with the application GarageBand and was really discovered by the public in 2009 with her EP The Crown Jewels, featuring her single “I Am Not A Robot”.

Her first album, The Family Jewels, was released in February 2010 and that’s when success began for her.

diamonds 2

I actually discovered her on Youtube, I was searching for another song and I arrived on her clip “Hollywood”. I found it really weird and was about to close the page when my sister said “Don’t judge until you’ve heard it all”. So I listened to the song another time… And that’s when I fell in love with her music.

People can say her music is strange, but she has an amazing voice that she uses like no one else, and she’s amazing live. Her new album, Electra Heart is really, from my point of view, a success. I especially like three of the songs in this album : “How To Be A Heartbreaker”, “Power And Control”, and “Radioactive”, but I was really disappointed to see when I finally got the album that “How To Be A Heartbreaker” and “Radioactive” only feature in the US edition of it, which basically means I don’t have them.

My top 10 songs of her?

1. Obsessions

2. Power & Control

3. How To Be A Heartbreaker

4. Radioactive

5. Hollywood

6. Lies

7. The Outsider

8. Primadonna

9. I Am Not A Robot

10. The State Of Dreaming

She isn’t very famous in France yet, but I hope you will like her music.

Marie

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

