Skip to content

One Tree Hill

February 17, 2013

To my mind, One Tree Hill (OTH) is the best TV series ever ! What is surprising is that I remember pretty well the day I saw this TV series for the first time. I was only 9 and I came back from school. My oldest sister told me to come in the living room because there was a new TV series on TV that seemed awesome. I didn’t hesitate one second and I joined her to watch it. Actually we were watching  the first episode of season 1, so it was the very beginning of the TV series, at least the broadcasting in France. When the episode ended, my sister and I looked at each other and we said : “We have to see the next episode tomorrow !” And I’m sure that I won’t surprise you if I tell you  that we saw it the next day. Since that day, OTH has been my favourite TV series.

one-tree-hill-season-9-premiere-party

The story of One Tree Hill is about two half brothers : Nathan and Lucas. They both have the same dad, named Dan. Actually, Dan left Karen at the end of high school when she was pregnant with Lucas. Then, Dan  dated Deb and he made her pregnant with Nathan. The two brothers study in the same high school : Tree Hill High. Unfortunately they hate each other because they don’t have the same friends, the same way of life and the same mentality. Nathan belongs to the “popular” band since he is the leader of the basketball team whereas Lucas is considered as an “outsider” , who only cares about books, who doesn’t even have a father and who hangs out with “geeks”.

With time, they will learn how to live with the presence of each other and will even become friends and hang out with the same friends such as Haley, Brooke, Peyton, Mouth and Skills. The story may seem difficult to follow but trust me, when you know it and that you understand every detail, it is very nice to watch One Tree Hill.

But what I love the most in this show are the messages conveyed. Every teenager can identify himself or herself  with one or several characters, who were created to stand for all the changes that a teenager has to face. As far as I am concerned, I think that OTH is one of the rare TV series that gives messages to a large public. For instance, my mom loves OTH but also my little sister who has just turned 10 and my grandma. Moreover, the series is known the world over and I think that it is a good thing because it gives hope to people when they have to cope with hardships of any kinds. If you ask me which character is my favourite, I couldn’t answer because each of them has his own personality, his own way of life and I like them a different way.

My favourite quote from OTH is the following one : “At this moment, there are 6 billion, 4 hundred, 71 million, 8 hundred, 18 thousand, 6 hundred, 71 people in the world. Some are running scared.. some are coming home. Some tell lies to make it through the day.. others are just now facing the truth. Some are evil men at war with good, and some are good.. struggling with evil. 6 billion people in the world, 6 billion souls — and sometimes…all you need is 1.”  This is one of the most famous quote of the series and people love that one particularly because Peyton says it at the perfect moment. The whole episode is about true love and it ends with this amazing quote.

The following one is also one of my favourite because Jamie Scott, Nathan and Haley’s 4 year-old son says it : “You can drive at 16, go to war at 18, drink at 21, and retire at 65. So who can say what age you have to find your true love ?” I think it is funny that a child says it because it shown his maturity in the series.

ONE TREE HILL

In a nutshell, if you, girls or boys, haven’t watched One Tree Hill yet, I’d rather you to watch it so as it brings you as much as it brought me. This series is full of surprises, suspence, love and friendships so I hope you’ll like it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

