Skip to content

Nutcracker ballet in New York

November 2, 2012

I want to share with you the most amazing moment of my journey in New York, last year in December.

First of all, it is unthinkable to not say that winter is the best season to go and see the Nutcracker. My family and I went to the Met, in order to see the Metropolitain ballet dancing. I didn’t expect such a high level ! There were little dancers who played the roles of the children, and I was impressed by their professionalism. All their movements were coordinated, it was so cute and lovely. The older dancers were experienced , I can assure that the public expressed admiration everytime a pair was realizing figures. Moreover, the set was completely in line with the story. Fabulous costumes,  including a Christmas tree that seemingly grows forever, magical dancing dolls, marching toy soldiers, giant mice, a dazzling blizzard with dancing snowflakes and a land of luscious sweets. A pleasure for the eyes. There were so many beautiful things to see that I didn’t have time to get bored.

I already knew this ballet because I love the music of Tchaïkovski, who is the composer. I used to sing the famous flakes waltz with the chidren choir of the National Opera. I really advise this show to everyone who likes music and dancing.  Metropolitan Ballet Theatre has been presenting the full-length traditional staging of The Nutcracker since 1989, so every year in winter, you can go for it !

Hortense

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

